Skip to main content


Giving all youth members a way to be recognized.


The annual award was established in honor of NYCHA member, Whitney Welch, daughter of Greg and Pax Welch. The award is presented at the NYCHA Awards Banquet during the NCHA Derby each summer. Whitney and three of her friends were killed on December 19, 1998, the result of an encounter with a drunk driver. It was a devastating loss to all who knew and loved her. Whitney exemplified the true meaning of sportsmanship; she was a quiet girl, always friendly, courteous and respectful to others. Whitney was gracious in winning, as well as losing.

Whitney’s father, former National Cutting Horse Association President, Greg Welch, passed away on July 4, 2004, after a brief illness. Greg was a much-loved supporter of young cutters and served as a positive force in the lives of many youth members. Prior to his death, he presented the Whitney Welch Memorial Sportsmanship Award during the NYCHA Awards Banquet each summer. After his passing, Greg’s name was added to the sportsmanship award in honor of his dedication to children.

To be eligible for this award, the nominee must be:

  • A member of the NYCHA
  • Nominated by an NCHA Affiliate
  • Submitted by an NCHA Affiliate Secretary

Each Affiliate may determine its own process for selecting a nominee. Each Affiliate may nominate one youth member each year for this prestigious award.

The nominee is responsible for filling out this form and returning it to the secretary.

Whitney & Greg Welch Memorial Sportsmanship Award Committee
P.O. Box 94
Aubrey, TX 76227
Phone: (940) 782-9127

Questions regarding the award can be directed to Havey Manion 940-536-8572 or Kisten Jackson 940-782-9126


2023 Haylee Faith King, TX
2022 Cody Cain, Chancellor, AL
2021 Dylan Sinclair, Lipan, TX
2020 Carson Ray, Groveton, TX
2019 Colton Cogdell, Tulia, TX
2018 Alyssa Dvorak, Weatherford, TX
2017 Derek Waters, St. John, KS
2016 Kolby Don Moore, Williston, FL
2015 Samray Hooper, Andrews, TX
2014 Doris Lane Wood, Dublin, TX
2013 Amanda Morris, Burleson, TX
2012 Cheyenne Johnson, Pine Level, AL
2011 Marli Claytor, Cushing, OK
2010 Justin Richardson, Reading, KS
2009 Jessica Bagley, Taylors, SC
2008 Cooper Cogdell, Tulia, TX
2007 Elizabeth Brumbaugh, Weatherford, TX
2006 Lindsey Weander, Valentine, NE
2005 Samantha Biller, Tulare, CA
2004 Denver Jo Williamson, Archer City, TX
2003 Mica Motes, Weatherford, TX
2002 Keri Garrison, Ridgeland, MS
2001 Ty Chambers, Wichita Falls, TX
2000 Mandy Williams, Grantsville, UT


Forms & Downloads

Established in 2000, this award is presented to a National Youth Cutting Horse Association member who exemplifies the qualities of sportsmanship, responsibility, and respect for fellow competitors.


Due Date: July 1, 2024